Keep on keeping on!

Yesterday, I got my sooky-la-la on.  I’m not terribly proud of myself because I’m not usually that person, I’m normally the glass is half full type, but I was having a moment, I guess I could blame it on the hormones (or just that I was being a sooky-la-la!!). 

Yesterday I realised that in one month, my little ol’ Blog turns one!  One year of blogging here, wow!  Now, I started this blog for many reasons, firstly I just love to write, always have, always will.  Photography is a passion of mine, even if my sister and I decided to close our business.  I wanted other Mum’s to feel like they weren’t alone, some days can be pretty darn crappy.  I also really loved the community aspect of blogging that I had seen and heard of.  So I guess, overall, you could say it’s my creative outlet, my thing that I like to escape to.

But yesterday, I was all “What’s the point?”, I was kinda over for just “blogging for me”.  I know I have friends that read regularly, because they are also the friends on A Mums Reality’s facebook page.  I also know that maybe there are a couple of others that pop over here too.  Some days no one visits here, some days no one comments.  Some days, it’s all just a little disheartening.  That some day, was yesterday!

Image

Image

I read heaps of things about Blogging before I started, I still do.  They say lots of things those ‘experts’,

First one it takes a bit of time to get readers – kinda still waiting, but I’ll keep plugging along.

Blog for you – I promise, I do, I do!

Join twitter and interact – I actually really like twitter (a little more than Facbook), I do,  but sometimes feel out of the already made circles of friends.

Get on Instagram – this is not a chore for me, I love it, I just do it and wold even if this blog didn’t exist.

Visit other blogs and comment regularly – My favoure passtime!  I have close to 55 blogs in my google reader that I visit and comment on.

Find your niche – and maybe this is where I fall down a bit, I write about lots of different things.

Go to blogging events – I don’t know about many of them, the ones I do are pretty big, expenisve and this little blogger is scared!!.

And publisise on social media –  I do when first post, but I don’t keep going on and on, it’s just not me.

So after my big sook yesterday, some really nice things happened out there in cyberspace.  First, Jess from My Heart, Your Home responded to a comment of mine on instagram and made me feel alot better.  Not only that, she then posted a photo of what she was doing, reading my Blog, and I got a new visitor!  Jess is beautiful and we have something big in common, she is having her second baby too, we are due three days apart.  Then Cherie from Raising Master Max also left a lovely comment on instagram and then popped over and left a comment here too.  She’s pretty awesome out there in the blogging world and is going places.  Finally, over on twitter, The Four of Us told me a bit about her blog, also made me feel better, and then we struck up a conversation and discovered she lives in the next town and had moved from my town!!  And then to top it all of, I had sent Alphabet Monkey an email just to let her know I was writing about the quilt I bought from her (it’s the right thing to do) and she emailed me back a most lovely email. 

Image

Image

So today, I am feeling much better thanks to those people and many others.  It might not change much here, but it has changed the way I was feeling.  Today I also cleaned out my Google Reader, took out some blogs that no longer ‘speak to me’ and added more that do.  I took out some of the well known blogs, because that is was the only reason I really started to read them.  Today I guess I have to realise that sometimes my blog might not appeal to others, and some days, people just might not know what to say and don’t comment, but that’s ok, I have those days too.

So tell me, be honest, what do you like about coming here and what would you like to see more of?

Bel x

26 thoughts on “Keep on keeping on!

  1. I come here to find out how my friend is going in the world. I don’t always have time to catch up at work or holidays as life just seems so busy all the time. I love seeing what you are up to and the things you write make me tink about things going on in my own busy life. I, like many others, just don’t think to comment! Perhaps this blog will make me think more about leaving my ‘piece of mind’ in cyberworld!!! I will try to comment more on the things that speak to me.

  2. Its funny how when we start out it truly is just for ourselves, but before long the desire to have people read and comment becomes very overwhelming. I hate the days that nobody reads, its very disheartening, but I just try not to look at the stats.

    I find Twitter SO hard… I just dont know how to find my place in that world and I mostly forget it exists.

    Just keep doing what you do because what you do is great 🙂

    • Glad I’m not the only one who finds twitter hard, I liken it to a school yard of sorts. I’ll keep plugging along, as I said, it’s my creative outlet.
      I’m glad you visit, and it’s cool that we have such a big thing in common!

  3. The blogging world is a beautiful place 🙂

    And psst, Mrs ‘four of us’ is one of my closest friends. In fact, she is the very first person who introduced me to blogging & held my hand as I set up my blog 🙂

    So location wise, I didn’t realise you & I were so close! You should come along to the next Melbourne bloggers dinner (we do them regularly, & it’s amazing & so fun to get together with a bunch of like-minded people).

    I will e-mail you when the next one is happening 🙂

    Keep plugging along. Blogging is fun, & don’t lose sight of the fun component. But I knew how you felt yesterday, because trust me … we’ve all been there!

    Cherie (raisingmastermax)

    x

    • Glad I wasn’t alone in my feelings, but it was great that you along with others made me feel that I wasn’t alone!
      Would love to come to a catch-up, they do sound like loads of fun!
      And the world gets smaller and smaller the more I look at things. I only met Mrs ‘Four of Us” yesterday, but she seems lovely!

  4. I love the honesty, that you can tell us the good and bad that life brings. I love that as I’m reading your words, I’m nodding my head, knowing that I too have felt or am feeling that way too. And I love the realism, no outrageous life standards to make me feel inadequate, but great stories and the simple and practical ideas that make you just who you are x

  5. Hi Bel, I ‘found’ you on Instagram, and am a new reader.

    I also have had my blog almost a year, and am having a bit of a blog existential crisis, not unlike the one mirrored off my blog!

    I just want you to know I agree with so much of what you wrote in this post. When I started my blog (inspired by others I had been reading) I had all these plans, and just havn’t done ‘anything’ really. I’ve come to realise that to be a big-name blog takes a massive injection of time and energy and I havn’t been able to devote it to my blog like I thought I would. Plus I lack graphic design skills.

    So, for now – I am stilling “doing it for me” – but I agree it is downheartening to keep plodding along some days.

    I think the biggest disappointment for me is that I had really hoped to find my mamatribe (hence the name of my blog). I hadn’t (and still havn’t) found them offline and was sure I would find like-minded people online to form friendships with, but not yet.

    And I must comment more. So here I am commenting 🙂

    Becks

    • Thanks Becks for visiting! I’m so glad to know I’m not alone, it really does make one feel better. I have so many hopes for this blog, but I wont let the dream die and neither should you!

  6. Keep blogging! As I said yesterday, I completely understand where you’re coming from. I have barely any followers, and not a lot of comments, but I keep writing. Some days I wonder why, and I may have a little break here and there, but I’m a writer at heart, which I’m guessing you are too. And I have no ‘niche’ either, I consider myself a “lifestyle blog”! Keep writing, you’ll be so glad you did 🙂 Xx

    • Thanks so much! I think I’m a lifestyle blogger too, and most of the blogs I read are very similiar not niche driven. You’ve found a new follower in me (not in the stalker kind of way) but the new reader and new friend kind of way x

  7. hey miss belinda… i read it every time but like lisa i am slack at commenting. sorry. xx i love that it mirrors some of my world and days…it was only last night i said to brent whilst miss k was having a tantrum kinda evening “sometimes when miss k is like this i wonder why we had a second”…of course i dont really mean it but there are those briefest of moments throughout the month that you think ‘gosh why did i do this again’…but then that is normally followed by a fabulous time the next day. xxx (p.s. as you know miss a is my placid empathetic one whilst the second princess is the feisty firey one who i am trying to figure out how to manage…think i always will be 😉

  8. HI there, like all the others, I read regularly but don’t comment. It’s not coz I don’t like what you have written, or I disagree…I just don’t. Maybe I should 🙂 I don’t get many comments either, but I look at the page reads and if it’s more than 2 I get excited 🙂

    I love reading your blog more so than all the others I think, coz I actually know you and we are SOOOOOOO very similar (I’ve probably never told you that :)) Apart from our history and teaching, I love photography too though I dont get to do it as much as I used to and I’m actually a little jealous of the camera you have!! I could continue the list of similarities but it’d seem a bit of a sad/stalker thing to do…

    So please don’t stop…I don’t get to read as many books as I used to either, so my blog time is the best use of my available reading time…don’t deprive me of my reading!!!

    • I’m in the habit of commenting, I have my times each day where I read blogs and comment, but I’m in that world I guess.
      We do have lots in common don’t we? And my camera, it is awesome, but anyone can take a good photo, it’s not the camera.
      I’ll keep writing, you keep visiting x

  9. Keep on blogging Bel. You do a great job and I love to read what you have written. Combining your love of photography and writing is a beautiful thing to see. I hope you continue blogging for a long time as I appreciate getting to know you more each time I read your blog.

  10. That was a really nice post to read. I’ve only just started (after a five year hiatus) and i’m going through all the moves. I have plenty to write about and i think i’ve developed a niche. The one thing I find disheartening is when i post comments regularly on specific blogs and not once do they reciprocate. I don’t know if they’re meant to or not but I know that when they see my comments / visits they’d be happy so why not return the love? Keep going darl, you’re doing fine!

  11. Hi Bel, first time visitor and love what I’m reading. I’m a big Instagrammer so I’ll look you up and follow you there as well.
    Keep up with the blogging! It all comes in ebbs and flows, I say…

  12. Hi Bel, it’s my first visit to your blog and this post just resonated with me and the way I feel sometimes about blogging. So I just followed your blog and will try to visit more often. #FYBF

  13. We all have those days. Sometimes blogging seems like another schedule item to be adhered to and met. I’ve made some amazing friends from Blogging, so it’s all completely worth it in the scheme of those off days, and the times you think you’ve written a good post and yet nobody seems to notice. Anyway, I loved your post, and found you via FYBF. Congrats on your 1 year bloggiversary!

  14. Hi. This is the first time I’ve seen your blog and will be sure to like it on Facebook. I’ve only been close to four months now on my blog and already I’m having many of uninspired days. Some mornings I wake up with nothing – not a clue on what to write. It probably shows. 😉
    Best of luck with your blogging future. I’ll be sure to pop in more often.
    Cheers
    Mumabulous

No, seriously, I love hearing your comments!

