Self Portrait Maternity – 26 weeks

When I was pregnant with Phoebe I worked two weeks up until my due date and was planning on doing the same with this little one.  At the moment I’m just thanking my lucky stars that I have holidays in two weeks time for six weeks and that I can really rest.  After that, I’ll reassess everything and may have to re-do the budget a little and finish work much earlier than I had hoped.  In any case, I’m still trying to enjoy being pregnant but realise that unlike my first pregnancy, my body is already screaming out to me to  slow down.

This week has been hard, like really bloody hard. My body has started to scream at me “that’s enough”. My pelvis is well and truly screwed, almost word verbatim of my Osteo (I use the term almost loosley). I spent the wee hours of Sunday morning having a cry in bed, and no, it didn’t seem to help the pain but sometimes all that’s needed is a good bloody cry!

26weekswm

I spent Monday and Tuesday at work, waddling around like a wounded penguin. All the while, I couldn’t get out of any chair quicker than an old lady! Tuesday night I finally met with my Osteo who was a little shocked at my rapid decline and it was decided that I would finally start wearing a support belt. Already it is helping me to move around alot freer and with much less pain, but to say I’m fixed would be a great understatement. I know that the next fourteen weeks I will be spending some time on Struggle Street.

26weekswm-2

I’m trying to stick to a routine with the washing and housework, so that when I come home from work I can slump down on my bed for an hour of so and let my sore body rest guilt free.  Sorry for all the doom and gloom, I’m not normally one to focus on the negative, but hell, I’m just so sore it’s a bit too hard to ignore!

Bel x

6 thoughts on “Self Portrait Maternity – 26 weeks

    • Congrats Shari, I love finding people who are due around me, so exciting! My first pregnancy was seriously heaven on earth (and I know people hated me for it). This time around is very different, but as I said still trying to enjoy every minute. At the end of the day, our bodies change so much but we get a beautiful little miracle out of it. x

  1. Oh no! I was sicker and sorer the second time around too.

    Does it have anything to do with the position of bubs? Or is it muscle?

    Ps.hehe literally screwed

    • Bubs is lower this time because of the lack of muscle tone from having Phoebe. But basically it is too much relaxin, which makes the pelvis really loose and sore, in turn all my back muscles are worker harder to keep everything together (then making them tense, sore and stiff). I’ll keep soildering on though! Bring on the holidays x

No, seriously, I love hearing your comments!

